Goals

CENTRE FOR ART MARKET STUDIES (FOKUM)

 

When art is traded for money the world is mesmerized by record prices – but also suspicious of the processes by which these are obtained. Strangely, however, the art market has rarely been the subject of sustained research.

The Forum Kunst und Markt / Centre for Art Market Studies (fokum), founded in 2012 at the department of Modern Art History at TU Berlin, is devoted to the interdisciplinary and interinstitutional study of the art market of all periods.

It regularly presents lectures, research and publication projects, as well as international workshops in order to discuss and deepen current research on the art market and its relations to other aspects of the art world.

The Journal for Art Market Studies, a peer-reviewed, open-access journal published by Forum Kunst und Markt / Centre for Art Market Studies, will lend further international visibility to these activities.

Additionally, the Network for Young Scholars sustains the communication among young researchers in the field of a long-term cultural history of the art market, supporting particularly the development of innovative methods for exploring the relationship between artworks as art historical objects and their cultural and financial economy.

Ziele

FORUM KUNST UND MARKT
 
 

Wenn ideelle Werte mit Geld aufgewogen werden, schaut die Öffentlichkeit gebannt auf die erzielten Rekordpreise. Gleichzeitig misstraut sie den Abläufen, die diese finanziellen Spitzenwerte hervorbringen. Trotzdem bleibt die systematische Erforschung des Kunstmarktes bis heute ein Desiderat.

Im Herbst 2012 wurde daher das Forum Kunst und Markt / Centre for Art Market Studies (fokum) am Fachgebiet Kunstgeschichte der Moderne der TU Berlin gegründet. Es setzt sich zum Ziel, in einem fächer- und institutionsübergreifenden Austausch die Erforschung des Kunstmarktes von seinen Anfängen bis zur Gegenwart in Theorie und Empirie zu intensivieren.

In regelmäßigen Vorträgen, in Forschungs- und Publikationsprojekten sowie internationalen Workshops werden aktuelle Forschungen zu den Spannungsfeldern und Dynamiken zwischen Kunsthandel und institutionalisierter Kunstwelt präsentiert, vertieft und vernetzt.

Zusätzliche internationale Sichtbarkeit erhalten diese Forschungsergebnisse im Journal for Art Market Studies, das als peer-reviewed Open Access Journal des Forum Kunst und Markt / Centre for Art Market Studies der TU Berlin herausgegeben wird.

Im Nachwuchsforum soll zudem der Austausch junger Wissenschaftler_innen zu Themenfeldern des Kunstmarktes in einer kulturhistorischen Langzeitperspektive gefördert werden. Ziel ist es, insbesondere innovative Methoden zur Erforschung des Verhältnisses zwischen dem Kunstwerk als kunsthistorischem Objekt und seiner kulturellen wie finanziellen Ökonomie zu etablieren.